Know your labs?

Working with a number of developers/end users and different project teams, it is clear that ‘the interpretation’ of Lab Definitions is not set in stone.

In response, we have looked at the different labs and identified, in a simple and clear way.

  • ‘Wet’ v ‘Dry’ differences.
  • Different ‘Wet’ lab containment level variances.
  • Key design implications associated with each lab requirement.
  • The construction cost drivers for each definition.

Why we think clear definitions are important?

Early communication is key to ensuring the right end product is achieved and costs are optimised efficiently.

Understanding the core definition is fundamental to setting the key design requirements and cost drivers.

Know your safety cabinets...

Microbiological Safety Cabinets (MSC) classifications are separate from and do not correspond to Containment levels.

It is important to have a good sense of which cabinet your facilities may need. This classification affects air filtration systems associated with the cabinet type and potentially wider HVAC coordination.

Class I and II Can be Recirculating or Non-recirculating: This is more fundamental to Shell and Core design than the class of cabinet.






What are the different types of lab?

In practice these are generally referred to as Dry Labs (akin to office space) or Wet Labs – which are categorised into specific containment levels. There are four stages of containment level, CL1 being low level non infectious toxins to CL4, where the specimen being studied poses a high risk and where no vaccine/therapy might be available.

Image examples of wet and dry lab set ups.

Our Life Sciences People

For further information, please contact our Life Sciences lead:

alinea staff photo - Richard Taylor

Richard Taylor

To see a downloadable version of this page Click Here